Scholarships and Awards


Each year, the Topeka Symphony provides scholarship funds for music students at Washburn University. With current funds and a bequest from Carmie Wolfe, scholarship money is granted to deserving students from other schools as well.


TSO Performance Scholarships

The Topeka Symphony Orchestra offers scholarships to string students accepted as a member of the Topeka Symphony Orchestra. Acceptance into the orchestra is by audition and scholarships are awarded based on the audition and an application.


Elna Friedstrom Awards

The Topeka Symphony League awards grants to musicians in the Topeka Symphony Youth Orchestra and the Youth Philharmonic. These awards honor the memory of Elna Friedstrom, a long-time volunteer and supporter of the Topeka Symphony Youth Ensembles. These grants are awarded in the spring and are based on applications submitted by the students.


The Charles Marling Award

The Charles Marling Award of Distinction was introduced in 1982 to recognize past or current Symphony or League Board Members for “exceptionally meritorious endeavors and long and devoted service” to the Topeka Symphony. This award has been bestowed only nine times since its inception, including the unveiling of the award and presentation to Charles Marling.


Recipients of the Charles Marling Award of Distinction

Charles Marling, 1982

Edith Lessenden Chandler, 1984

Margaret Fletcher, 1987

Norma Pettijohn, 1989

Julie Reeves, 1990

Floyd Hedberg, 1992

Virginia Wade, 1996

Kathy Maag, 2002

Diana Osterhout, 2006

Trella Anderson, 2017


The Bravo Award

The Bravo Award was established by the Topeka Symphony Society Board of Directors in 2005. The purpose of the award is to honor an individual who has demonstrated devotion to the Topeka Symphony Society through a unique contribution or impact.


Recipients of the Bravo Award

Molly Wisman, 2005

Paul Kindling, 2006

Cynthia Enstrom, 2007

Betty Dicus, 2008

Betty Sisk, 2009

Betty Cleland, 2011

Mike Lennen, 2017

Gordon McQuere, 2017